ARCHIVES Search | Login | Search Tips | FAQ | Pricing | About the Archive | Terms
ProQuest is no longer the archive provider for Chicago Tribune. Please visit their web site to view their new archive. If you have previously purchased articles, you may log in to view them. If you have an active article plan, you may log in and continue to use it.
Advanced Saved Help
Start a New Search
Buy Complete Document: AbstractAbstract Full Text Full Text
Chicago Tribune (pre-1997 Fulltext) - Chicago, Ill.
Author: Kehr, Dave
Date: Jan 4, 1988
Start Page: 6
Section: NEWS
Abstract (Document Summary)

The National Society of Film Critics on Sunday handed out its annual awards, citing "Hope and Glory," British filmmaker John Boorman's autobiographical account of a boy's experience of World War II, for best director and best screenplay (both to Boorman) and best cinematography (Philippe Rousselot), while reserving the best film honor for the late John Huston's adaptation of James Joyce's short story, "The Dead."

The group, composed of film critics for leading national general interest publications, met at Manhattan's Algonquin Hotel, where 34 of the group's 38 members participated in the voting. Best actress honors went to young British performer Emily Lloyd, who, in her first lead performance, starred as an enthusiastically foul-mouthed teenager in David Leland's "Wish You Were Here." Runners-up were Diane Keaton in "Baby Boom" and Holly Hunter in "Broadcast News."

Buy Complete Document: AbstractAbstract Full Text Full Text

Most Viewed Articles  (Updated Daily)